Homeostasis

Dear Boys,

I learned this new word today, when I was reading Men’s Health (http://www.menshealth.com/) and I learned about this word ‘homeostasis’ as described in wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Homeostasis). Basically, it explains that the body has this internal self-correcting mechanism, that will automatically seek a kind of physiological equilibrium.

It is interesting as I think about how these homeostasis comes to exists in the both of you. And how my role as a dad can change that, if it is even possible. Since it is something internal and entirely organic, I would assume that it would be a natural phenomenon, and not a nurtured one. I certainly didn’t do any homeostasis downloads for the both of you!

Then in this case, what is the role of a parent then, for my case a dad? Since homeostasis exist, and there is not a damn thing that I can do about it, and since it will be self-correcting and seeks its own equilibrium, that could probably be a good reason, or excuse for why kids seldom listen to parents. Since a kid’s level of homeostasis would differ from that of a parent’s, there will be no reconciliation other than conflict.

You, as my kids, in your own body, will find your own equilibrium, and me as your dad, and myself, has my own equilibrium, so what next? can we come to a mutually agreeable homeostatic position? On anything, on everything?

Leave a Reply

